Nursing Licensure Compact

Map of Nursing Licensure Compact States

The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) allows nurses to have one license to practice in multiple states. There are currently 34 states which have enacted NLC legislation, meaning they recognize the multi-state license or have such legislation pending. For a full list of NLC states, see below.


The Nursing Licensure Compact removes complications for nurses practicing in multiple states. Nurses from NLC states are able to work across state lines without having to worry about applying for licensure in each state or being burdened by multiple renewal requirements and fees. With more nurses practicing across state lines, state boards of nursing are coordinating now more than ever before — helping to expand the mobility of nurses as part of the nation’s wider healthcare system.

Eligibility for Multi-State License

In order to apply for a multi-state nursing license, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must reside in an NLC state, and you must declare an NLC state as your primary state of residency;
  • You must be actively licensed as a registered nurse (RN) or licensed professional nurse (LPN)/licensed vocational nurse (LVN);
  • You must meet any requirements for licensure held by your home state, though when practicing, you will also be held to the standards of the state where the patient or practice is located.

Nursing Compact States

*Indicates pending legislation

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado*
  • Delaware*
  • Georgia*
  • Idaho
  • Illinois*
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine*
  • Maryland*
  • Massachusetts*
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana*
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada*
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey*
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina*
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina*
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas*
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virgina
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
Sponsored Online Healthcare Programs


Nursing@Georgetown is an academically rigorous, evidence-based program that culminates in a Master of Science degree in Nursing, delivered online by Georgetown University’s nationally ranked School of Nursing & Health Studies.


Nursing@Simmons is an online Family Nurse Practitioner program designed for currently licensed RNs who are at various stages of their career.


The USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work Department of Nursing offers an online Master of Science in Nursing program for aspiring family nurse practitioners through Nursing@USC.


MPH@Simmons, the online Master of Public Health from Simmons College, is designed to give you the real-world skills you need to address health inequity on a local, national, and global level.


An innovative online Master of Public Health program offered by the top-ranked Milken Institute School of Public Health at the George Washington University.


Offered by the Milken Institute School of Public Health at the George Washington University, this online Executive Master of Health Administration program is designed for healthcare professionals who aspire to become leaders in their field.


This online Master of Science in Management of Health Informatics and Analytics program from the Milken Institute School of Public Health at the George Washington University enables graduates to improve the efficiency of health care organizations through the use of data and technology.

Sponsored Online Healthcare Programs